Poker Forum > Strategy
Am I doing an angle shoot, cheating or you learn from your mistakes
hi_am_chris:
just meant if they both have chips behind and he decides to muck his hand before bb has made a decision in the big blind why should he get his cards back? just wait for bb to make a decision either way
Paulie_D:
--- Quote from: hi_am_chris on May 24, 2011, 23:30:38 PM ---
just meant if they both have chips behind and he decides to muck his hand before bb has made a decision in the big blind why should he get his cards back? just wait for bb to make a decision either way
--- End quote ---
The V shouldn"t have tried to "muck" without being sure that the BB had folded but the general rule is that the cards are not completely dead until they are unidentifiable amongst the rest of the muckpile.
In this case, the OP clearly stated that the V was holding on to them so they were identifiable...the muckpile doesn"t (despite what some may think) have magical powers to render a hand dead merely by having been touched.
The V gets his chips back if his hand is live...which it is.
The angle comes from trying to get the hand declared dead when it wasn"t....and the OP knows it and is trying to get someone to agree with him so he can justify the move.
MintTrav:
--- Quote from: AMRN on May 24, 2011, 22:12:02 PM ---
not really seeing this is an angle shoot
--- End quote ---
I agree - it"s more like cheating.
When you say you "won" the pot, does that mean you got his 5500 as well as the blinds and he was eliminated? Trying to get people"s hands killed on tenuous grounds is one of the lowest acts in poker. If you actually got him eliminated you have no conscience.
--- Quote from: Paulie_D on May 25, 2011, 00:02:24 AM ---
The angle comes from trying to get the hand declared dead when it wasn"t....and the OP knows it and is trying to get someone to agree with him so he can justify the move.
--- End quote ---
+1. The OP should be made to call the all-in and hope for the best.
LongshanksED:
Way I see it as soon as the cards touch the muck, even if he is still holding them their dead, you read stories and watched highlights of dealer error of mucking cards and players losing the pot. Remember it happened at WSOP. once in they cant be retrieved nor should they be.
Same as a bettng line. Say you moved your chips over the line to call an all in on river but don"t say anything kept your hand on them and Villian turns over a better hand, should you be able to pull your chips back over the line? No of course not, it why it"s there, to prevent mistakes and make actions accountable
AAroddersAA:
--- Quote from: MintTrav on May 25, 2011, 03:07:41 AM ---
--- Quote from: AMRN on May 24, 2011, 22:12:02 PM ---
not really seeing this is an angle shoot
--- End quote ---
I agree - it"s more like cheating.
--- End quote ---
Bit strong that John, it"s not cheating it is within the rules of the game.
However it is an angle shoot. I would hope most TD"s would have the common sense to rewind the action to where the OR has shoved and allow the OP to muck his hand. You can"t say the call has to stand as technically speaking the OP is right and only called as the other player had mucked his hand.
Navigation
[0] Message Index
[#] Next page
[*] Previous page
Go to full version