Poker Forum > Strategy
Am I doing an angle shoot, cheating or you learn from your mistakes
Paulie_D:
--- Quote from: LongshanksED on May 25, 2011, 07:33:57 AM ---
Way I see it as soon as the cards touch the muck, even if he is still holding them their dead, you read stories and watched highlights of dealer error of mucking cards and players losing the pot. Remember it happened at WSOP. once in they cant be retrieved nor should they be.
--- End quote ---
As always, house dependent but the "accepted" rule is that if they are clearly identifiable (as in this case) then they can be retrieved and are live.
RROP:
--- Quote ---
Cards thrown into the muck may be ruled dead. However, a hand that is clearly identifiable may be retrieved and ruled live at management's discretion if doing so is in the best interest of the game. An extra effort should be made to rule a hand retrievable if it was folded as a result of incorrect information given to the player.
--- End quote ---
...but whatever the argument General Rule 1 applies.
--- Quote ---
1. Management reserves the right to make decisions in the spirit of fairness, even if a strict interpretation of the rules may indicate a different ruling.
--- End quote ---
In this case...it"s an angle and I"ll call it like I see it.
MintTrav:
--- Quote from: AAroddersAA on May 25, 2011, 08:52:39 AM ---
--- Quote from: MintTrav on May 25, 2011, 03:07:41 AM ---
--- Quote from: AMRN on May 24, 2011, 22:12:02 PM ---
not really seeing this is an angle shoot
--- End quote ---
I agree - it"s more like cheating.
--- End quote ---
Bit strong that John, it"s not cheating it is within the rules of the game.....However it is an angle shoot.
--- End quote ---
Yeah, you"re right. I just hate this kind of thing. I saw a player get someone else"s hand killed in an APAT tournament just because their cards were too far forward. There were lots of chips in on the River and he had clearly lost the hand - couldn"t believe I was on my own in saying their hand should be live.
--- Quote from: AAroddersAA on May 25, 2011, 08:52:39 AM ---
You can"t say the call has to stand as technically speaking the OP is right and only called as the other player had mucked his hand.
--- End quote ---
IMO the hand was still live - not mucked. The rewind you suggest may be the most sensible thing to do, though I would be reluctant as he did call. How can you claim that you only called to try to get an unfair advantage but, if you"re not getting that, you don"t want the call to stand?
samuel_9:
TD has not got a clue bad TD imo.His cards where still live. You new what you where doing .You diden.t like the loud vocal you where been OUT PLAYED with 79of j3of this is a very good player imo .BUT if your trying to tell me this was good play on your part to learn the loud vocal player a lesson the player that was OUT PLAYING you .Sorry it dos.ent wash with me .Hes still holding his cards .You no the rules his cards are still live. You no that dont tell me you dont .I have to agree with john and paulie D on this 100 persent.also sack the TD
Paulie_D:
--- Quote from: MintTrav on May 25, 2011, 09:46:17 AM ---
I saw a player get someone else"s hand killed in an APAT tournament just because their cards were too far forward. There were lots of chips in on the River and he had clearly lost the hand
--- End quote ---
Say what now?
Floor!
--- Quote ---
couldn"t believe I was on my own in saying their hand should be live.
--- End quote ---
Nor should you have been....THIS is why people should know the rules.
"Protect Your Hand" means more than sticking a protector on it...it means knowing the "general" rules, knowing the "house" rules (where different), not acting before it"s your turn BUT making sure you know what"s going on around you and...so much more.
Jon MW:
--- Quote from: AAroddersAA on May 25, 2011, 08:52:39 AM ---
--- Quote from: MintTrav on May 25, 2011, 03:07:41 AM ---
--- Quote from: AMRN on May 24, 2011, 22:12:02 PM ---
not really seeing this is an angle shoot
--- End quote ---
I agree - it"s more like cheating.
--- End quote ---
Bit strong that John, it"s not cheating it is within the rules of the game.
...
--- End quote ---
If the ruling is correct then it"s angle shooting - because it"s within the rules of the game
If the ruling is incorrect then it"s cheating.
Generally I think the ruling was incorrect for the obvious reasons already stated that the hand was identifiable - but I also think that the TD"s word should stand as the final arbiter.
In a "properly" run tournament, therefore, I"d count it as cheating.
Navigation
[0] Message Index
[#] Next page
[*] Previous page
Go to full version