Author Topic: FA (FishAholics Anonymous)  (Read 13187 times)

jlane1980

• Silver Member
FA (FishAholics Anonymous)
« on: January 17, 2010, 21:17:52 PM »
My name"s Jon and I am a fish!

Surely the first step to shedding Fishiness is to admit that?!  :)

OK,
So here"s the thing.  I am not a profitable player. I listen to / read stories, all the time about people who are consistently making a profit and winning at poker.  Now, i understand that sometimes these stories / tales can sometimes be a little fictitious (Kind of like "The one that got away")!  However, most of the time there must be some truth in the matter!
So, i decided to take apart / dissect my play.  Quite honestly, i can"t figure out what i"m doing wrong.  I seem to go deep in most MTT"s (online and live), occasionally cashing, but more often than not i haven"t got enough chips by around the bubble to make a dent in anybody else"s chip stack and inevitably end up racing and losing out!
SO! I believe i have to do 2 things, and here is where i ask for your advise -

1.  Go back to basics.  I have read a few times, that when you believe you are at a dead end at poker, then one of the best things you can do is to go back to basics, and revisit the "bones of the game".  Question One - How do i do this?  Where is the best place to start?

2.  Grow some BALLS :)!  I have been told that i lack the Balls to gamble too much.  I think i may sit too tight.  I also don"t think i know the right time to steal / bluff.  Which tends to get me in to awkward positions where i"m forced to fold  and lose chips!

On the advise of SirPercival, i have brought The poker mindset, which i am told is a must!

I await your advise with baited breath.

Many Thanks in advance

Jon Lane
The all-in play works everytime but once.

JamieCarra

• Silver Member
Re: FA (FishAholics Anonymous)
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2010, 21:49:33 PM »
Why don"t you put a few hands up in the academy to get some feedback on?

SirPercival