Poker Forum > Strategy

Correct ruling?

<< < (6/7) > >>

samuel_9:

--- Quote from: HaworthBantam on January 12, 2010, 20:47:53 PM ---

Hmm, good one, I"ve never had this at any games I"ve run.

If the player says "call" and throws the 1k chip in, then he/she"s forced to call the whole bet, meaning the full 3.5k, no question.

I think you"ve got to ask one question - if the player throws a chip into the pot is he/she automatically assumed to be calling, regardless of any verbal announcement ? Some TDs may, whereas others may not. If the assumption is a "call" then the player is liable for the full 3.5k. If the TD thinks a genuine mistake has been made (how the TD could make that assessment, I"m not sure) then I suppose the player may be allowed to fold but leave the 1k behind.

My own view is that the player should have been forced to pay the full 3.5k - if anything, it would have made the player pay more attention in future to what"s going on around him/her. An expensive lesson maybe, but a valuable one.

Or am I just too harsh...?

--- End quote ---
not too harsh at all  rules are rules spot on you young wippersnaper

Swinebag:

--- Quote from: samuel_9 on January 14, 2010, 20:17:05 PM ---

--- Quote from: Swinebag22 on January 12, 2010, 19:52:15 PM ---
I think I"m getting confused here.

what about this scenario

blinds are 200/400. UTG moves all in for 5K. fold round to guy in MP who says "raise to 1000" (having not heard the allin). The dealer then informs him that it is 5K to go so MP says he doesn"t want to raise or call anymore.

Surely this is the case where he has to leave his 1K in the pot and is not obliged to match the allin?

--- End quote ---
first of all heres my glass 00 the blinds are 300/600 not 2/4 hes allin for 3.5k not 5k glasses are a wonderful thing read it again

--- End quote ---


LOL thanks for the advice. However I was asking for opinions on a different scenario.

The OP involved a scenario where there was a shove and an undershove which the player in question wanted to call (not aware of the open shove)

My example, involves a shove then the player in question wanting to make an opening raise (again, not aware of the open shove)

Read my post again and this should be obvious. I put different blinds and shove sizes to try and avoid confusion (I obviously failed with you though ;))

samuel_9:
yes you did   sorry   the word scenario comes to mind

Pitchie:

--- Quote from: LongshanksED on January 14, 2010, 13:20:27 PM ---

Devils advocate here.

What if he said I call the thousand ? (just from another point if view for conversation). Would/should he be allowed to take it back?

--- End quote ---


Just my 2 pence worth on an interesting thread...

The bet isn"t 1k it"s 3.5k. So he would be given an option of calling 3.5k or mucking.

The top and bottom of this matter is that the player to act should be aware of the play that is happening around him/her. If the play says call unaware of what is happening around him then thats just poor and he"ll have to put in the 3.5k IMO.

Paul.

AMRN:

--- Quote from: Pitchie on January 15, 2010, 15:05:44 PM ---

--- Quote from: LongshanksED on January 14, 2010, 13:20:27 PM ---

Devils advocate here.

What if he said I call the thousand ? (just from another point if view for conversation). Would/should he be allowed to take it back?

--- End quote ---


Just my 2 pence worth on an interesting thread...

The bet isn"t 1k it"s 3.5k. So he would be given an option of calling 3.5k or mucking.

The top and bottom of this matter is that the player to act should be aware of the play that is happening around him/her. If the play says call unaware of what is happening around him then thats just poor and he"ll have to put in the 3.5k IMO.

Paul.

--- End quote ---


^^exactly

Navigation

[0] Message Index

[#] Next page

[*] Previous page

Go to full version