Poker Forum > Strategy
Player interfering?
samuel_9:
--- Quote from: Chipaccrual on February 01, 2011, 21:05:57 PM ---
I think you have to speak up, especially if it"s confirming what the dealer has said.
--- End quote ---
correct
AMRN:
I think it is different between cash and tournament play. In a cash game, it"s up the player to sort himself out, and be sure of the action etc, but any mistakes don"t have a bearing on anyone else at the table..... the difference with tournament play is that any action has a potential knock on effect on the other players at the table, so in my opinion there is no problem speaking up.
Similar situation if the dealer awards the pot to the wrong player having misread the board - and nobody but you notices..... in a tournament game, I believe it is right to ensure the right action occurs and you should point out the mistake.
ian.ski309:
This question leads me to pose another one (sorry for hijacking you Wayne)... at my original table I was in seat seven and was perfectly happy with it. When they broke our table I went to seat 10. From that position I was so close to the dealer that I couldn"t even SEE the players in seats 1 to 3, let alone see their stack, whether they were in the hand or their bet sizing without standing up.
In that situation, had the dealer announced "Fifteen to call" and I misinterpreted 15,000 for 1,500 I would undoubtedly have been very unhappy with the outcome. The person who designed the shape of poker tables obviously never sat in seats 1 or 10.
nosey-p:
What about the flip side, if it was you who made the mistake and was trying to get it overturned would you like it if other players was backing up the dealer? This is for your tournament life.
[
AMRN:
--- Quote from: nosey-p on February 02, 2011, 06:41:42 AM ---
What about the flip side, if it was you who made the mistake and was trying to get it overturned would you like it if other players was backing up the dealer? This is for your tournament life.
[
--- End quote ---
In a tournament, the best hand should win, the correct action should be enforced, etc etc etc.......... all players have an interest in this happening, so have a right to point out any mistakes. At the end of the day though, it"s the TD that makes any decision - but that doesn"t mean other players can"t help to outline the facts.
In the "15 to call" issue..... if someone has clearly heard the dealer say "it is fifteen thousand to call", I see no reason why they shouldn"t support the dealer when the debate arises....
On a separate note on that hand though, I think the TD was wrong to enforce the call when it was clear the guy had mis-heard. He wasn"t angle shooting - he mis-heard and threw in chips to make what he thought was a cheap call. In a GUKPT or WSOP event, yes the ruling the TD issued was correct and the full call should be made..... however this is APAT and is by it"s nature an event for less experienced players to enter the fray and leniency and common sense should apply (imo). I think the 1500 chips that crossed the line should stay, but he should have been allowed to fold and keep the rest of his chips back.
Navigation
[0] Message Index
[#] Next page
[*] Previous page
Go to full version