Poker Forum > General Discussion
HELP ANYONE - NOT HAPPY
Paulie_D:
To the best of my knowledge, the prematurely dealt card is dead.
Robert"s Rules of Poker (as not apparently covered in APAT Rules)
--- Quote ---5. If the dealer burns and turns before a betting round is complete, the card(s) may not be used, even if all subsequent players elect to fold. Nobody has an option of accepting or rejecting the card. The betting is then completed, and the error rectified in the prescribed manner for that situation.
--- End quote ---
Not sure what the prescribed manner is..that"s why we have TD"s
If you aren"t happy, or you are in doubt, politely ask for a ruling from the TD and stick to your guns until you get it. Once you have it, however, live with it.
TightEnd:
Its exactly the same ruling as given in the last APAT National
Importantly no other player should be making this ruling, don"t just sit there and wonder make sure the TD is called over and makes an independent ruling
Mistakes happen whether we are talking about self deal or casino dealers, but the key thing is that the TD has a set of rules he or she works from and which you can be confident will be applied fairly
Paulie_D:
--- Quote from: TightEnd on December 17, 2007, 09:59:19 AM ---
Its the correct ruling. If a community card is dealt before the betting on the card before has finished it needs to be replaced by the third card from the bottom
--- End quote ---
Tighty, I"m sure you are right but.. just for my own edification..is this procedure laid down anywhere?
I"ve never heard of the "3rd from bottom" option, I was under the impression that the "dead" card was shuffled back into the deck (after the next burn has been taken).
Swinebag:
--- Quote from: TightEnd on December 17, 2007, 09:59:19 AM ---
Its the correct ruling. If a community card is dealt before the betting on the card before has finished it needs to be replaced by the third card from the bottom
Of course this ruling needs to be made by the TD/Card-room supervisor
Was it self-dealt?
Whether it was or not its an unfortunate mistake, but the correct solution was found
--- End quote ---
i"ve never heard of this rule and am delighted I have learnt my new fact for the day.
To clarify, is there another burn card before you deal the third card from the bottom?
Also, just out of interest, why the third card and why from the bottom?
TightEnd:
The burn card stands, and then deal third from the bottom
as to why third card from the bottom, not sure!
off to check APAT rules, but its definitely a Grsovenor wide rule as a regular player in their estate
Navigation
[0] Message Index
[#] Next page
[*] Previous page
Go to full version