Poker Forum > Strategy

Player interfering?

<< < (4/6) > >>

nosey-p:
In this case, it was an experience player that made the mistake and like I said earlier the dealer did say 15,000 but since I was sat next to him only I heard him. Even if the player did not here him but the dealer spread the chips so you could see the amount of the bet, is it not your responsibility to see the bet?

I only brought up this subject up mainly because I did speak up at the time, but when the TD came over and gave the ruling the player in question looked at me in a way which made me feel uncomfortable, as if to say keep your nose out. I may be reading into something that's not there as we did get on at the table and had allot of friendly banter.      

Paulie_D:

--- Quote from: nosey-p on February 01, 2011, 20:23:01 PM ---
Player B says "I have to call" and puts in 1500 chips. The deal says "you have to put the rest in". Player B being confused says "why".

Player's A bet was 15000 but player B miss heard and thought the dealer said 1500. Not liking the dealers ruling he ask for the TD.

--- End quote ---


Although Player B should have protected his action he does have an out here but it"s a little angle-y.

He never said, according to reports, CALL....oh, the word was uttered but it"s in the context of "I have to call"....and a gross misunderstanding of the amount to call.

There"s an argument that Player B has the option of folding and surrendering the 1500 or calling off the full 15000.

RRoP


--- Quote ---

12. Because the amount of a wager at big-bet poker has such a wide range, a player who has taken action based on a gross misunderstanding of the amount wagered may receive some protection by the decision-maker. A "call" or "raise" may be ruled not binding if it is obvious that the player grossly misunderstood the amount wagered, provided no damage has been caused by that action
--- End quote ---


Discuss..

ian.ski309:

--- Quote from: nosey-p on February 02, 2011, 12:43:36 PM --- I only brought up this subject up mainly because I did speak up at the time, but when the TD came over and gave the ruling the player in question looked at me in a way which made me feel uncomfortable, as if to say keep your nose out.
--- End quote ---


I wouldn"t take it to heart Wayne, the TD is going to have to trust his dealer and take his word for it - you were merely attempting to provide corroboration. As for keeping your beak out, you wouldn"t be much of a Nosey Parker if you did  ;D

PantsMan:

--- Quote from: Paulie_D on February 02, 2011, 12:52:31 PM ---

--- Quote ---

12. Because the amount of a wager at big-bet poker has such a wide range, a player who has taken action based on a gross misunderstanding of the amount wagered may receive some protection by the decision-maker. A "call" or "raise" may be ruled not binding if it is obvious that the player grossly misunderstood the amount wagered, provided no damage has been caused by that action
--- End quote ---


Discuss..
--- End quote ---


The key words here are "if it is obvious". When is it obvious? In this case it may seem so but change the amounts and you get into a very grey area. One person may deem it obvious, another may not. It shouldn"t be down to the TD or anyone else to be interpreting things one way or the other. If he"s put his chips in then he"s called whether he stated call or not. Otherwise do you apply the same rule elsewhere? If you bet 3 times the pot, can you then take it back stating that it"s obvious you didn"t mean to bet that much? If you raise pre-flop to 15 bbs can you take that back as it"s "obvious" you didn"t mean to bet that much?

Paulie_D:

--- Quote from: PantsMan on February 02, 2011, 15:12:53 PM ---


The key words here are "if it is obvious". When is it obvious? In this case it may seem so but change the amounts and you get into a very grey area. One person may deem it obvious, another may not.
--- End quote ---


I"ll add the rest from RROP for guidance.

The decision-maker (TD) is allowed considerable discretion in ruling on this type of situation. A possible rule-of-thumb is to disallow any claim of not understanding the amount wagered if the caller has put eighty percent or more of that amount into the pot.

Note that the character of each player can be a factor. (Unfortunately, situations can arise at big-bet poker that are not so clear-cut as this.)


--- Quote ---It shouldn"t be down to the TD or anyone else to be interpreting things one way or the other.
--- End quote ---


Now here you are wrong...that is precisely why you have the option of calling the floor.


--- Quote ---If he"s put his chips in then he"s called whether he stated call or not.
--- End quote ---


Nope...if I accidentally drop a chip over the line...I haven"t called.


--- Quote ---Otherwise do you apply the same rule elsewhere? If you bet 3 times the pot, can you then take it back stating that it"s obvious you didn"t mean to bet that much? If you raise pre-flop to 15 bbs can you take that back as it"s "obvious" you didn"t mean to bet that much?

--- End quote ---


I think you are misinterpreting the rule here but RULE 1 always applies.


--- Quote ---
1. Management reserves the right to make decisions in the spirit of fairness, even if a strict interpretation of the rules may indicate a different ruling.

--- End quote ---

Navigation

[0] Message Index

[#] Next page

[*] Previous page

Go to full version