Wayne Smith Wins Stud Championship As ECOAP Opens

Wayne Smith took the Gold Medal in the opening event of the European Championship Of Amateur Poker. Taking place at Nottingham’s Dusk Till Dawn poker club, Stud specialist Smith outlasted a tough field to take the title, and an early lead in the ECOAP Player Of The Series competition; where a ISPT Wembley seat awaits the winner.  Weswell Ellis took the Silver medal while Chen Tam took the Bronze.

Day one of the European Amateur Team Championship was also completed.  The Republic of Ireland; European Champions in 2008, lead following a series of No Limit Hold’em and Pot Limit Omaha, and Heads Up matches that made up day one’s schedule.  The Irish lead double World Champions Wales by 4 points, with Italy a further 5 points back, 1 point ahead of England.

Team – Points

Rep Ireland – 59
Wales – 54
Italy – 49
England – 48
Portugal – 45
N Ireland – 45
Scotland – 39
Germany – 33
Poland – 24

The Team Championship will play to completion today, as will the Six-Max Championship which has sold out with 165 runners.  Live updates are available via the APAT forum.

Live Update